About Me

Hello and thanks for stopping by!

Who am I?
I'm Miss Organised Redhead and at the point of updating this bio (in 2018) am 42 years old. I am based in the Midlands (UK), and since 2016 have lived with my fabulous boyfriend in our lovely detached house along with our 3 gorgeous cats.

And who are my nearest and dearest?
Well of course there's my boyfriend who I've now been dating for nearly 5 years. 

I'm very lucky to also have several close family members living just a 10 minute drive from us - we used to live on the same street in fact. We frequently meet up for socialising and fun times as well as going on a family holidays together most years. I love the the fact that I can be driving down the road one day and driving in the other direction is my parents - waving at me as they pass by! I know that living nearby to family isn't everyone's cup of tea, but for me, I love it - I've been helped out of a sticky wicket on many occasions.

How do I pay the bills?
I used to work as a Freelancer in the IT industry. This often involved long hours when commuting, which led me to aspire to become more self sufficient by seeking funding from multiple alternative sources. I enjoyed my freelance work, but it's not what I'd choose to do if having a guaranteed income were no problem. Since late May 2018 I have taken a sabbatical from working in IT to focus on growing my online publishing business with a view to making this my main income stream. Hopefully I will get this to a point where it covers my core expenses so that I won't have to return to IT again.

What type of stuff will you find on this site?
First off, I want to say that running a site like this, not to mention writing, is completely new to me - so please forgive me any schoolgirl errors I'm likely to inadvertently make.

I've started this site so that I can share progress toward achieving my Goals, the primary one of which is to become Financially Independent before I'm 50 - this will be the main focus of my writing efforts.

Also, it's been a firm belief of mine for some time now, that happiness comes from enjoying Life's Simple Pleasures - so I'm hoping to highlight as many of these that I can think of.

How about a bit of conversation?
I'd love to hear your thoughts and any tips you have for me, I'll be keeping a close eye on comments for feedback and advice.

Is there anything more you'd like to know about me?

4 comments:

  1. Hi OG

    Thanks for sharing your background. Interesting that you have close members of the family living so close by - my entire family (parents, siblings, grandmother) now lives in Hong Kong (previously they all lived in the UK) so I only get to see them when I go over there to visit or when they occasionally come over to the UK on holiday. It was tough at first but because I didn't want to move over there myself, I've had to get used to it. I'm fortunate as I have a good set of close friends.

    I look forward to reading more on your blog, am interested in your organisation tips and tricks (my colleagues think I'm organised yet my family think I'm on the chaotic side!)

    I only have one question on my mind - is your BF joining you on your quest to reach FI by 50 too?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi weenie,

      I can't begin to imagine how difficult it must have been for you when your family moved to Hong Kong and you chose to stay in the UK, particularly when you'd had them in the same country as you previously. Sometimes I struggle with thought of even living one town away from my family, let alone them being in a separate country. Having a close set of friends must be like your honorary "UK family"...it's good you have them, they can get you through tough times.

      Good question with regards to TheBF and whether he's joining me on the quest! He's 5 years younger than me, so will only be 45 when I reach 50. I'd love for him to reach FI at the same time as me or indeed by the time he turns 50, because then we can do even more fun stuff together than we already do now. I'm not yet sure what his thoughts are on seeking FI early for himself, so at some point I'll get his view on this. We're certainly very similar in terms of how we think about money and savings so we're a good fit for each other. I'll have to keep you posted on that one!

      Delete
  2. Clear goal, well done.

    ReplyDelete